Holly’s Report, nearly 5 years on

Dear Rich and Mum, Here is Holly’s school report. I’m immensely proud of her from the bottom of my heart and the depths of my soul. Her school reports tells tale of a kind hearted and generous being, who makes others feel great. A creative sporty young lady with a thousand questions to ask and a Folville star. She has been able to use her life experiences to soften her, not harden her, she has been able to embrace all opportunities in the midst of great loss. She has dealt with the challenges that have come her way so far with humour, energy, style and honesty. She has been a mentor to younger children at the school, and has excelled in her work, and she’s excited about the adventures ahead.

In addition, here’s my report. She is curious and enthusiastic, she’s a poet, she’s a dancer and she plays the trombone, she has expensive taste in trainers and knows a hundred hairdos, and I value her fashion advice. We created her, and now she’s creating herself. We taught her, and now she’s teaching us. She is made of love from love. She fosters kindness not anger. Her shoelaces are always undone and she eats everything and drinks gallons of milk. She has been lucky enough to have two amazing dads, she is my best friend and my inspiration. She gives the best hugs and still sucks her thumb, she still sleeps with her two favourite bears Handy and Nanny. She’s the funniest holiday companion I could ever wish for, and she’s about to join a brass band!

imageA chapter of her life is coming to an end next week, one she has lived through without you Rich, I can feel your beaming smile. Mum, everything has turned out just fine. We miss you both so much, but in your lives ending we have come to know the joy of life itself. Holly, I salute you.

Leave a comment